Swap Partners Have Been Mailed!

March 30, 2008 at 1:07 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Whew!!!! It has taken me 11 hours…but I finally have everyone matched and all the details sent out….

If you have not received an email from me tonight, check your Spam folder. If it isn’t there, contact me ASAP so that I can resend it to you. My email address is tanaya at gmail dot com (remove the spaces).

In the meantime, here is what the email said (minus the juicy bits at the bottom of each of your messages.

Dear Swappers;

Today is the day. No really, it is THE day. Today is the day that you get your swap partners information. I’m so happy to be hosting this swap and I’m really, really excited to see everyone’s ideas and plans and creative doll quilts.

First, I’d like to go over a few details/rules/FAQs. For this swap, everyone has agreed to make a small quilt. It should be understood that you will try to create a nice quilt, something worthy of gifting to someone else, something that you would be proud to give and happy to receive.

Don’t get nervous about this!! I don’t expect perfection or museum quality textiles. Just do your best. You can choose any style, any technique, anything that you like. Go simple, complex, traditional, contemporary, try something that you have perfected to a science or something that you’ve never attempted before. You are the master of your domain here, so most importantly…have fun with this! There are a few rough guidelines however:

SIZE: from 12×12 to 24×24…any size or shape in between.

MATERIALS: natural fibers/cotton, wool, linen

EMBELLISHMENTS: if you want to use them, feel free…beads, rickrack, buttons, doilies, ribbon, lace….anything or nothing at all.

CONSTRUCTION: Pieced, appliquéd, wholecloth, or yo-yos; quilted by hand or machine; and bound.

LABEL: It is recommended that you attach a label to the back of your quilt. I know, this can be a bit scary for some people though, so I will not make it a requirement. A label is however a very nice addition to any handmade quilt. Whether or not you decide to label your quilt, please do include a note with your quilt with your name and contact information (URL, blog, email address, etc. so that they can thank you).

SECRET: This will remain a secret round robin swap. Your partner will not know your identity. If you want to create a secret or anonymous email account to communicate with them, you can but this is entirely optional.

DUE DATE: The deadline for mailing your quilt is April 28th. This gives us a bit longer than 4 weeks. I like to plan on sending mine a week early…just in case life gets in the way and I’m delayed. But please try your hardest to get your package in the mail no later than April 28th. There is nothing more disappointing than not receiving a package. Also, please email me to let me know when you have mailed your quilt. Delivery confirmation is highly encouraged.

COMMUNICATION: If for any reason you cannot met the deadline or you need to drop out of this swap, please let me know as soon as you know. If you communicate any setbacks with me I can make sure things work out favorably for your partner, no hard feelings. If you do not communicate with me…well, poo. That just stinks for everyone.

I highly encourage you to use the Flickr Group (http://www.flickr.com/groups/dollquiltswap/) to communicate with each other. Post new topics and photographs of works in progress, view the Flickr streams and blogs of the other swappers, get to know each other. Comment on the photos and posts of other swappers. Please if possible post a picture of your finished quilt too.

Questions, comments, anything? Always feel free to contact me! I’m not the world’s most knowledgeable quilter, but I’m a whiz at Google searches.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great quilting advice. I’ll pass it along to my wife.

    Click Here to Create Free Email Accounts

  2. Great quilting advice. I’ll print out this page for my wife to look at.
    http://aac.ebusinesswiz.com

  3. Ahhhh I have missed out…if you have a spare partner I would so like to join in, I adored the last one, infact the reason I have found out I missed out is I just posted about my last partner… If I am unlucky to miss out I hope it goes well…all the best
    Suzie Sews

  4. *faints* waaah I missed it……=( oh well next swap for me I guess! ^_^ Can’t wait to see what everyone does this round!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

