Doll Quilt Update – Less than a week to go!

July 12, 2007 at 2:40 pm | Posted in Doll Quilt Swap, quilting tips, Swaps, Uncategorized, WIP | 3 Comments

Hello everyone!  I hope you are all having a good time finishing up your quilts.  We are less than one week away from sending off our creations.  July 18th is around the corner!!  Are you ready?!

Here is a bit of what my group has been up too…

Fiona has finished her CW Inspired doll quilt and it is on the way to her lucky partner.  She found a neat label that she thought went with the era of the quilt quite well.  Fiona says she will delight us with a picture of the entire quilt once her partner receives it.

quiltlabel2.jpeg

Fiona quilt

Jan has finished piecing her quilt and is currently hand quilting it.  I can’t wait to see what the final product looks like.

111question.png

Jen L. shows us a bit of her beautiful fabric.  I love the colors don’t you?

643784503_ba9ddbb5e0.jpeg

 Jhoanna  is now in the process of handbinding her quilt.  She considers herself to be a “newbie” as far as quilting is concerned, but I think she is already looking like a pro!

 july062007b.jpeg

 Donna is trying to be a bit mysterious about her quilt.  She blurred the image to throw us off a bit.  But, we can still see something beautiful in the making.

 635561052_f3f7114d13_o.jpeg

 Deedeen made a pretty little blue number for her partner.  If you speak French (mine is VERY rusty), head on over to her blog and check it out.  If you don’t speak French, check it out anyway, she is very creative and the photography on her blog is tres jolie!

UPDATE…Sorry Swap Babes, but like I said, my French is VERY rusty and I misunderstood what Deedeen said on her blog.  This is not the quilt for her partner, she is still working on that particular quilt.  Okay, I am off to get out my old French dictionary from high school.  I think I need it!! LOL! 🙂

dollquilt2.jpeg

Laura over at Pine Ridge Quilter also gave us a glimpse at what she has been working on.  I like the bee!  Check out her blog for other beautiful quilting creations.  Laura is quite busy!

 dqii.jpeg

Jean-Sophie (I love her name!) has been busy as well.  Besides working on a special quilt for her partner, she has been busy putting together a tutorial for machine applique. 

680081048_ed21b29a8a_t

If you would like to check it out, you can head on over to Flickr and check out her Notes for Machine Appliqué Posies

She also blogged the step-by-step instructions:

Introduction – contains information about threads and stitches, describes how to prepare the background fabric for all three methods and has step-by-step directions for Faced Applique

Preparing Circles for Appliqué – describes an alturnative way to prepare the center for a faced applique flower (good information to tuck away for preparing appliqué for any circle, oval or almost circle shape).

Using Templates
– describes too other methods, both using templates.  In one, you use freezer paper and glue stick; in the other, starch, an iron, and templates made from a heat resistant material.

Thank you for the tutorial Jean-Sophie!  I am sure everyone will learn something from it!

This is really wonderful work “Swap Babes!”  I am looking forward to seeing the final results from all of you!

Have a great week!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m very sorry to say that that blue doll quilt will not be for my swap-partner… It was just a try, my second doll quilt in fact. I’m sorry, I should have translated my posts these times! I’m currently working on the swap quilt, I promise!!!

  2. How, and by the way, thanks a lot Solidia!!!

  3. See I told you my French was not the best! LOL!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

